How I’m Spending Post Promos

beautiful dayFour days since the promotion exams have ended has come and gone; so the question returns— for a student who has had the hectic schedule of studying all day to prepare for the Promotion Exams, coupled with the commitments of CCA and the mini getaways to the give yourself a break, now that you have the luxury of this consecutive 7 days of marking days and temporary post promo break, how would you be spending it?

To have spent most of it in the museums, at cafes and walking around the Civic District Heritage Trail has been the most refreshing for me, reigniting my love for these places full of treasure. Why these walks and the company of beautiful people (from my advocacy team, to Mudassar, to the OM team here for the long haul, to Gaby J. who kindly spent this amazing afternoon to me) are so awe-inspiring for me is possibly because of the beauty I’ve learned to see in the people and places. I watched The Giver a couple of days back, to relive the experience of reading it as a literature text back in Year One. Once more, the prose had taughht me to credit the most basic things that make us human and make the life that we lead worthwhile– from colours, to emotions, to memories. After all, it is this appreciation that adds meaning to our experiences.

First, about the places: There is a powerful thing about every exhibit that allows me to immerse myself in the experience of someone else’s, to enjoy the ride of their emotions and thoughts, sometimes their lives, other times some ideas that once crossed their minds, however fleeting. A fine example is in today’s Annie Leibovitz Exhibition– to be able to see one’s life through her lenses and the way she immersed herself in the experiences to share moments with these people that crossed paths with her, reminded me most of why I love basking in these moments with people at beautiful places. These memories and emotions she so skilfully captured in her photographs were incredible, and the stories that they appeared to tell in that single arrangement was powerful.

And no adventure to a place is complete without the perspectives of another. I am incredibly thankful for the people around me who manage to sustain a conversation with my queer thoughts and rooted opinions, who can be patient with my countless questions and be unafraid to engage me in a meaningful exchange of understandings of the same thing. Standing side by side with Gaby today was something like that, and days ago with Mudassar before every photo completing each other’s sentences. It is this exchange and the laughter, emotions and thoughts we share in this experience that heightens the meaning of the experience.

So as Project Work looms overhead, and my team slowly gears up towards our insane timeline day by day, I’d like for myself to savour these moments in the Post-Promo temporary freedom as much as I can and relive the experiences I once enjoyed everyday last year. And so, for a student who has had the hectic schedule of studying all day to prepare for the Promotion Exams, now that you have the luxury of this consecutive 7 days of marking days and temporary post promo break, how would you be spending it?

Leave a Reply

