Happy 17th Sarah Wong!

In the midst of this preparation for the Promotional Exams, I’m actually doing a mini social networking hiatus unless I have something that I want to say and I deem ultimately necessary, like now. So here’s a short but heartfelt post I would like to dedicate to Sarah, and the friendship that we share.

1396073_10201530967574236_881508263_nIn this time that I have been so privileged to get to know Sarah, she has almost been the exemplar of being beautiful inside and out to me. I will never forget the memories that we have shared, half of which are volunteering experiences or supporting global organisations like this time above, when we checked into Picnic 1345 by World Vision, and the other half of our memories, all about mutual support that I will talk about later. Being around Sarah reminds me to be who I am and love those around me and myself unconditionally, which is something truly rare and beautiful. I am constantly reminded of the kindness that she stands for even when we pass by in school or in the hugs or ‘are you okays’ that go a really long way to make my days. Thanks for giving me all these kind exchanges and showering me with love, Sarah.

1383708_10200880004942284_133357847_n

Then, in our friendship, there is the acceptance of whoever we are. Allow me to explain myself, in the years we have known each other, we have watched each other grow: stronger, and braver. I’m not completely the same as the Shermaine she got to know at first, but I’m thankful for the way she has continually loved me over and over, and accepted me for who I became with whatever ordeals we had to get through or challenges that shaped us in the hardest years of our teenage life. The continuous acceptance and ability to love completely every new change that has evolved from our experiences, keeps our friendship stronger every single time. Thanks Sarah!

1380659_10201555092177336_2080597114_n

And this leads me to talk about all the bad times we have shared. It’s somewhat a secret (every friendship has their secrets) but the idea is that we have seen each other through the worst of one another’s times, the worst states and shared tears, blood and sweat. There has been blaming of ourselves, of each other, a cyclical process fueled by the underlying love that supports our friendship. And I dare say this is something I share with little of my friends today, so thanks Sarah for allowing me to be part of your moments and for being there for me over and over again. You are truly a friend I can call up anytime and someone I can count on to be there anytime.

1622087_10202343637130467_1941933643_n

But of course we have had our best times too, from art exhibitions, volunteer opportunities, and other random cafehops or adventures that I have ultimately lost count of. They say that we are the silliest in our teenhood and the most reckless, impulsive and almost stupid. But I think these silly things really do count (as I expressed once in my post ‘Lets Count the Silly Things’) and I am glad to have had the privilege of sharing these stupid things that will amount to be what shapes who become and what we pride ourselves in in time to come. So thanks for the memories that are still being accumulated by the day, for the kindness and love the supports me in every way possible and for being my friend because it really isn’t easy.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SARAH!

Leave a Reply

