People & Places

Image

I started my holidays with a day out with my godsister hanging out at Group Therapy Cafe and later catching a Romeo and Juliet ballet. We checked in for the night at King Albert Park Macdonalds’ and for those who know, it closed down on the midnight of the Sunday that just passed. It’s the house to many people’s memories and the place itself has it’s own history of 23 years since 1991. I personally enjoyed training as a Macdonalds’ crew and hang outs with friends in this place. That night, so many people had gathered there, some standing because there weren’t enough seats, enjoying their last meal, making last memories and reminiscing all the good times spent in this place as a manager hosted the countdown to the closing of this outlet. 

The attachment to the place that I witnessed and myself experienced is hard to describe but I have never understood the power of a place till this day. (I suppose it’s true we only realise the value of things as we’re about to lose them). Quoting a macdonalds’ manager speaking to the crowd that night, “As KAP macs closes down; we are saying goodbye to the physical place, but not the memories”. The power of a place is that every day people walk through its doors or gates and create memories, foster friendships, strengthen relationships and share experiences there– all these intangible recollections all congregated within the walls of a single physical place. Where you enjoy a memory, the closest you can get to reliving it is seeing the place you experienced it or being there again with the same people, though it’ll never be exactly the same. But with the physical place there, it is a symbol and it is also a reminder. 

I guess that’s what made letting go of the place so difficult. 

Image

This experience of a loss of place has reminded me to enjoy the moments I share with every person in every place so much more, here’s me checking in from Littered with Books along Duxton Road. And below which, is a bunch of people that remind me that sometimes place doesn’t matter, because the people and connections still remain wherever we are and whatever we do. 

Image

Leave a Reply

