JC: Entry One

Checking in from JC, I know I said I’d be back when I had things to talk about so I suppose tonight I have things to say–

It’s been less than two weeks into JC and I’m starting to see what they mean when they say it passes in a flash because everyday really ends before you know it at all. Orientation was a frenzied mess of meeting-new-people, reliving new friendships and discovering a surge of adrenaline to do late nights out consecutively; and now with the new classes out it’s the cycle repeated but coupled with attending lectures and walking from place to place, and sometimes, sitting around doing nothing. Well, today I fill you in with things I’ve seen and experienced.

Image

Meet the bunch of us from OG that I’ve come be really close to though it was just 4 days of intensive approximate 15 hours of fun each day back to back, so maybe my JC worse-case scenario (the part about not forging new friendships because I’m terrible) isn’t quite turning out the way I saw it. I’m thankful for all these new people I’m meeting and for the beautiful memories we’ve shared already and the more that we continue creating each day.

The part I love best about making new friends is learning about the stories and experiences behind each person that explains how he/she became what he/she is today. It’s like an exchange of histories that makes my heart ump that much faster after we move beyond “Hi, I’m Shermaine, what’s your name?” And the great thing about this bunch is that after the numerous truth questions, first impressions and games we’ve played together, seeing each other through the most exhausted times in orientation, we still haven’t gotten tired of each other’s faces, voices, slangs or jokes.

Image

And turns out the part about losing the old friendships turned out false because meet the bunch I’ve grown very distant from since Year 2 but have come to meet along the way in orientation! My lower secondary classmates may not have stayed in touch for a long time but I suppose now I learn to appreciate the comfortable knowledge of their presence in this very big school with my new, very big, J1 batch. So I suppose it takes more than 2 years to tell the value of friendships.

Image

The campus is beautiful and the resources and facilities are unbeatable (in my heart)– I’m grateful beyond words that this school has so much that I can learn with and from, there’s so much here to experience and I’m afraid my two years here will be far from enough. Together with great resources that we’re all having the privilege to enjoy, comes all the big expectations this school has of us and of the kind of people we are to become. Seems like I can’t quite escape all the expectations people paint out of Rafflesians at the end of the day: but the same way I entered RGS, I enter RI, with the biggest promise to myself not to allow these expectations to make me who I don’t want to become. At this point, I mark my words and I hope I get back to this two years later, pleased.

Image

And meet a small bunch of us from class- they’re the company I’d have admist the crazy academics rat race over the next two years and I have little to say about them except that I’m trying to be more excited than scared.

Image

And hi, this is me- at this point I feel overwhelmed by what RI has given me already and I’m thankful for the very happy days I’ve managed to enjoy in this beautiful school till this day. By the way, I got into Runway and Interact (yay!), we surprise ourselves everyday when we challenge our boundaries.

P.S. please support RGS Room to Read Chapter! It doesn’t matter if you’re not currently studying in RGS, following our social platforms will simply raise your awareness on literacy rates around the world and in Singapore, better understand the Education playing field and learn to appreciate what you have everyday! It’s a beautiful cause led by very passionate people (including myself) so you can ask me if you want to find out more!

(Instagram: @rgsroomtoread

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rgsroomtoread)

2 thoughts on “JC: Entry One

  1. Pingback: Celebrate 2014 | frizzyhaired|musings

  2. Pingback: frizzyhaired|musings

Leave a Reply

