Lunar New Year

Image

Sometimes I believe in destiny, to some extent. There are things and people that you’re born to meet and have by your side, by destiny. Family members are like default friends you’ve been bestowed with since birth. And to me, that’s destiny at work. I remind myself how lucky I am to have this many default friends from birth who would, without a doubt, be here for me if I needed them. It’s a beautiful thing to think about how we’ve spent our growing years together and been part of each other’s childhood, teenhood and soon enough, adulthood. My wish is that when we all become old rocking in our rocking chairs, moaning about our white hair and walking slowly towards our great grand children, we’d still be spending that time together. 

I sometimes feel envious of people who have friendships that last don’t-know-how-many-but-very-many years together and they end captions in their pictures with (number of) years and counting. But I often take for granted that right beside me, I’ve got these friends too. They’re beautiful, kind, loving, and a part of my life every step of the way. In fact, I have a whole bunch of them, from every walk of life with that array of experience and perspective to share with me. 

This year my new year house visits have been cut short because many relatives are overseas, but that leaves me more time to hang out with these cousins who meet yearly and we find ourselves making even more effort to get to know each other better every single year. 

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

