Comparative Bias (or Cognitive Bias)

In many ways when I choose an adjective to describe anything, I realise everything is relative. I am always consciously, or subconsciously, comparing this to something else that has happened before or something I am more familiar with. We make use of things that we know better to decide if something is good or bad, just ok or the best; but is it all that accurate? Besides what we experience is really really little.

Answering my own question, I thought about it for a while and I’ve decided that it’s natural and unpreventable plus, though our experience is little, it’s the best we’ve got. More importantly we have to continuously remind ourselves that what we experience mayn’t be the best measure and stay open minded to the possibilities. Just because nothing worse than this has happened before doesn’t mean this is the worst thing that could happen.

Anyway just penny of my thoughts because I didn’t think I should just post this lovely song that got me thinking in the hair salon today without writing anything. So before you judge anything at all- to compare or not compare: that is the question.

One thought on “Comparative Bias (or Cognitive Bias)

  1. Pingback: A World That Doesn’t Care | frizzyhaired|musings

Leave a Reply

