Going on Holiday

Today I turned down an offer to go to Thailand for two weeks with my grandparents over the holidays, there are many reasons I said no to this seemingly amazing pleasurable escape route to a busy holiday working and doing all the things on my holiday to-do list which I promise to share sometime but I guess as much as this idea of escapism was pretty appealing at first, I have weighed the factors and decided not to go. 

The reasons why, I shall not elaborate here but this thought process made me recall the last time I went overseas. 

OM has been my ticket overseas for the past three years and each time is an eye-opener because I don’t go on holidays often. My last family holiday was in Primary 4 or something to Hong Kong/Bintan. This year was exceptional, comparably the best because of company and here I hope these pictures give you a little idea of the kind of the fun I had. 

ImageImageImage

Image

When people say they’re ‘going on holiday’ we quickly assume that they’re going overseas for a vacation. I’m not sure if that’s the actual meaning of ‘going on holiday’ because to me that just sounds like I’m taking a month or two off from work and having some fun, regardless of whether I’m going overseas or not. But because every holiday everyone around me goes overseas with their family, I sometimes give what I do and how much I enjoy myself in Singapore less value and credit than it deserves. 

But not this year. 

Here’s to the last time I went overseas! And to the fellow Singaporeans who’d be in Singapore while everyone take off to elsewhere for the holidays, I’m with you bruddas!

 

One thought on “Going on Holiday

  1. Pingback: Well-spent, Or Not | frizzyhaired|musings

Leave a Reply

